Thursday, May 24, 2018

6 am
1 event

Breakfast Program

Location: Pavilion

From: Thursdays & Fridays, 6:00-7:30am


The Breakfast Program, formerly known as the Caring Committee Feeding Program, is among Central Synagogue’s longest ongoing social justice projects. Originally conceived and implemented by longtime congregant Nat Shapiro in 1983, the Breakfast Program was started in response to Mayor Koch’s outcry for New York City’s religious institutions to respond to an exploding homeless and hungry problem. Today, many clients of the Breakfast Program are working poor who greatly appreciate and regularly rely on the warm, nutritious start to their day.

Currently, our volunteers are helping to distribute pre-made sandwiches and other “to-go” items from the doors in front of the Pavilion entrance. Social distancing is observed and a contactless pickup system for the food has been arranged.

Sign up is required in advance to volunteer. For more information or to sign up, contact [email protected].


6 pm
1 event

Annual Congregational Meeting

Location: Pavilion

From: 6:00 pm - 8:00pm


All congregants are encouraged to attend. In accordance with Article V, Section 3(b) of the By Laws, we will vote to elect new officers and trustees and we will hear from our President, Treasurer, and Senior Rabbi.

Please note that you may cast your vote for officers and trustees via online proxy or in person at the Annual Meeting. You may only vote once, so if you plan on attending the meeting, please do not vote online. Note that only primary members and their spouses or partners may vote; adult children or other dependents in your family are not eligible.

Cast your vote online »


  1. Invocation
  2. President’s Report
  3. Nominating Committee Report
  4. Finance Report
  5. Senior Rabbi’s Remarks
  6. Q&A
  7. Benediction

Report of the Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is tasked with nominating first-term trustees as well as re-nominating trustees completing their first and second terms. Additionally, the Committee nominates first-term officers and re-nominates continuing officers.

Trustees are eligible for three three-year terms and officers are eligible for four one-year terms. President is eligible for three one-year terms.

Here is this year’s slate:

Nominated as Officers for a One-Year Term

President – Jeremy Fielding
Vice President – Brad Bernstein
Vice President – Ellen Cogut
Vice President – Shonni Silverberg
Vice President – Moses Silverman
Treasurer – Richard Markowitz
Secretary – Joe Sofer
Officer at Large – Michael Gamzon

Nominated as Trustees for their first Three-Year Term

Nancy Chemtob
Jonathan Crystal
Scott Fishman
Amy Glickman
Alice Greenwald
Lori Moore

Re-Nominated as Trustees for a Three-Year Term

Brad Bernstein
Jeffrey Goldstein
Jon May
Beth Rustin
Moses Silverman

Submitted April 2018: David Edelson (chair) with committee members Mari Hinojosa, Jenny Sharfstein Kane, Ralph Levene, Steven Steinman, Susie Stern, and Stephanie Stiefel.


Month Calendar