Thursday, May 25, 2017

6 am
1 event

Breakfast Program

Location: Pavilion Door

From: Thursdays & Fridays, 6:30-7:30am


Update: In order to maintain the safety of guests and volunteers during the COVID-19 Crisis, the Breakfast Program is currently operating on a “grab-and-go” basis; guests receive a “to-go” bag of food and drink at the Pavilion door.  Staff, security, volunteers, and guests maintain a six-foot distance from one another.  Additionally, if you are interested and comfortable volunteering for the Breakfast Program during this time, please contact the email below.

The Breakfast Program, formerly known as the Caring Committee Feeding Program, is among Central Synagogue’s longest ongoing social justice projects. Originally conceived and implemented by longtime congregant Nat Shapiro in 1983, the Breakfast Program was started in response to Mayor Koch’s outcry for New York City’s religious institutions to respond to an exploding homeless and hungry problem. Today, many clients of the Breakfast Program are working poor who greatly appreciate and regularly rely on the warm, nutritious start to their day. Volunteers assemble every Thursday and Friday morning in Lese Lobby (Community House) to prepare and serve the most important meal of the day. A bag lunch is also handed out to clients. These lunches are prepared the prior evening as part of Central Synagogue’s Sandwich Making Program. Volunteers must be in the 6th grade or older; those under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Sign up is required in advance to volunteer. For more information or to sign up, contact


6 pm
1 event

Annual Congregational Meeting

Location: Pavilion

From: 6:00 pm - 7:30pm


All congregants are encouraged to attend: we will elect officers and trustees and hear from our senior clergy and president.

Please note that you may cast your vote for officers and trustees via online proxy or in person at the Annual Meeting. You may only vote once, so if you plan on attending the meeting, please do not vote online. Note that only primary members and their spouses or partners may vote; adult children or other dependents in your family are not eligible.

Cast your vote online »


  1. Invocation
  2. President’s Report
  3. Nominating Committee Report
  4. Finance Report
  5. Senior Rabbi’s Remarks
  6. Q&A
  7. Benediction

Report of the Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is tasked with nominating first-term trustees as well as re-nominating trustees completing their first and second terms. Additionally, the Committee nominates first-term officers and re-nominates continuing officers.

Trustees are eligible for three three-year terms and officers are eligible for four one-year terms.

Here is this year’s slate:

Officers for a One-Year Term

President – Abigail Pogrebin
Vice President – Barbara Brill
Vice President – Jeremy Fielding
Vice President – Shonni Silverberg
Vice President – Joe Sofer
Treasurer – Richard Markowitz
Secretary – Moses Silverman
Officer at Large – Michael Gamzon

Trustees for a Three-Year Term

Stephen Siegel

Re-Nominated as Trustees for a Three-Year Term

Ellen Cogut
Jeremy Fielding
Nino Magliocco
Shonni Silverberg
Jonathan Youngwood

Former Presidents (Non-Voting)

David Edelson
Kenneth Heitner
Howard Sharfstein
Michael J. Weinberger
Alfred Youngwood

Submitted April 2017: David Edelson (chair) with committee members Jonathan Crystal, Peter Ezersky, Dorey Neilinger, and Stephanie Stiefel.


Month Calendar

« May 2017 »